Quick Enquiry

Australia Puts Travel Restrictions To Deal With COVID-19
Travelling from Australia

Australian citizens and Australian permanent residents are restricted from travelling overseas from 25 March 2020 at 12:00hrs AEDST.

This travel restriction does not apply to:

  • people ordinarily resident in a country other than Australia
  • airline and maritime crew and associated safety workers
  • people engaged in the day to day conduct of outbound and inbound freight
  • people whose travel is associated with essential work at offshore facilities and
  • people travelling on official government business, including members of the Australian Defence Force.

Travelling from overseas

  • All people entering Australia must self-isolate for 14 days.
    • You may board a domestic flight to your intended destination in Australia to self-isolate there.
    • If you are well and not symptomatic, you may self-isolate in a hotel.
    • If travellers do not comply with their 14 day self-isolation requirements, they may face a range of penalties that exist in each State or Territory.
  • Restrictions in place until: Further notice

Exemptions to travel restrictions

You can travel to Australia if you are:

An Australian citizen - Australian citizens without current passports should present evidence of citizenship or dual citizenship travel documents to the airline before departing. 
A permanent resident of Australia - You can come to Australia. You will need to self-isolate for 14 days, at home or in a hotel. Provisional (temporary) visa holders can not come to Australia. 

A New Zealand citizen — usually resident in Australia - 

New Zealand citizens who normally reside in Australia (subclass 444) can come to Australia. You must carry proof of residency (driver's licence or documents in relation to your residency). Present it at check-in.

Important: New Zealand citizens and permanent residents not living in Australia can only transit through Australia to return to New Zealand. Refer to transiting section below.

You can apply for an exemption if you are:

An immediate family member of an Australian citizen or permanent resident - 

For this category an immediate family only means:

  • spouses
  • dependent children
  • legal guardians

Without visa - You can't come to Australia until you have a visa. Apply for a visa and include proof (such as your marriage certificate, your birth certificate or birth certificate for your children). If we let you travel, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days, at home or in a hotel.

With a temporary visa (except for Partner and Child visa holders) - Attach proof (such as your marriage certificate, evidence of your de-facto relationship such as shared finances or property, your birth certificate or birth certificate for your children) and request an exemption. Do not travel until we advise that you can. If we let you travel, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days, at home or in a hotel.

Partner (subclasses 100, 309, 801, 820) and Child (subclasses 101, 102, 445) visa holders can come to Australia. You do not need to request an exemption. You will need to self-isolate for 14 days, at home or in a hotel. Prospective Marriage (subclass 300) visa holders can’t come to Australia at the moment.


Transit exemptions do not apply to any foreign nationals who have been in China, Iran, the republic of Korea or Italy in the last 14 days.

All transits must occur on the same day as arrival and passengers must remain in the sterile transit area. Check transit facilities at Australian airports, your travel arrangements and if you are eligible to transit without a visa.

Foreign nationals departing New Zealand can only transit Australia to return home between 21 March 2020 12:00 AEDST and 26 March 2020 11:59 AEDST. At the end of this period, this exemption is no longer valid.

Citizens of the following countries can transit through Australia to return home. These countries are:

  • Cook Islands
  • Nauru
  • Samoa
  • Fiji
  • New Caledonia
  • Solomon Islands
  • French Polynesia
  • New Zealand
  • Timor Leste
  • Kiribati
  • Niue
  • Tonga
  • Marshall Islands
  • Palau
  • Tuvalu
  • Micronesia
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Vanuatu

Additional exemptions as Determined by the Commissioner - 

The Commissioner of the Australian Border Force (ABF) may consider an additional exemption in relation to the travel restrictions currently in place for:

  • Foreign nationals travelling at the invitation of the Australian Commonwealth Government for the purpose of assisting in the COVID-19 response or whose entry would be in the national interest
  • Critical medical services, including air ambulance and delivery of supplies, that regularly arrive into Australia from international ports
  • Persons with critical skills (for example, medical specialists, engineers, marine pilots and crews) by exception
  • Diplomats accredited to Australia and currently resident in Australia, and their immediate family
  • Case-by-case exceptions may also be granted for humanitarian or compassionate reasons.

Exemptions must be granted prior to these travelers undertaking travel to Australia. The request for an exemption through Commissioner’s Discretion must be accompanied by:

  • Passenger details: name, DOB, visa type and number, passport number, Australian residential address, Australian telephone number)
  • Case information: why this case should be considered for Commissioner discretion/exemption
  • Supporting statement: the request should be accompanied by a statement and evidence of how the individual meets one of the grounds for an exemption or excise of the Commissioner’s discretion listed above.
  • It is important that all travellers provide evidence to us that they meet one of the exemptions above before travelling. For example if are an immediate family member holding a temporary visa you will need to provide us with evidence of your relationship.

Share your Comments
Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys
Sales: +91 9999 077 977